Would you like flies with that?

Are you eating insects (entomophagy) yet? If not, perhaps you soon will be.

In August this year, Trevor Baker in the Guardian told us about farming insects (entomoculture) for food in continental Europe. He told us about a London entomophagy company called Ento.

A few weeks later, Adam Frost and Paulo Estriga in the same paper asked why some of us aren’t yet bitten by Beetlemania. Good question. Take a look at their great infographic!

Somebody told me that insect snacks are available at Harvey Nicks so I’m now awaiting my order. Barbecue flavoured ‘worm’ crisps and curried crickets. The ‘worms’ have legs so I think they’re arthropod larvae. Lepidoptera, perhaps. When my snacks arrive, I’ll look them up on my fellow blogger Daniella Martin’s list of bugs you can eat. Just now my concern is that the spices might be too hot for my taste, but I’ll try anything twice.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in food, knowledge transfer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would you like flies with that?

  1. Pingback: Good bug bites | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

