Food waste in Britain and the first social supermarket

Laurence Gibbons at Food Manufacture says that good food is being wasted in Britain. Huge amounts of good food. You can scroll down for his infographic about this scandal.

Supermarkets are blaming fussy shoppers but they’re also promising to change their ways.

I’m grateful to my fellow blogger at passionhorticulture for showing us Mr Gibbon’s infographic and this film about food wastage.

What can we do? Those of us who claim means-tested benefits might soon be able to buy food that would otherwise be thrown away, cheaply at ‘social supermarkets’. This is a pilot scheme. I hope it succeeds. I hope too that it won’t face a barrage of stereotypes about ‘benefit scroungers’.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in food, horticulture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food waste in Britain and the first social supermarket

  1. Pingback: London workers sacked for not wasting food | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

