UK Enters GMO Free 2014

Sustainable Pulse ‘provides the general public with the latest global news on GMOs, Sustainable Food and Sustainable Agriculture from our network of worldwide sources.’ That’s genetically modified (GM, genetically engineered, GE, biotech) organisms. Sustainable Pulse shows news from all around the world.

These people aren’t impressed by GM crops, are they? As you know I keep an open mind about GM (my ‘genetic modification’ tag) but I’m finding it hard to stay neutral. I’m ashamed of our UK Secretary of State for Environment Food and Rural Affairs, Owen Paterson, for claiming that we in Europe are ‘missing out’ by not welcoming GM crops. I’m afraid of what might be going to happen in the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) where Mr Paterson cosies up with huge biotech companies who think that we Europeans are too timid. Mr Paterson, I think you’re too easily convinced.

This week Sustainable Pulse tells us that Mr Paterson hasn’t won yet. ‘2014 marks the first year since 2007 that no GM trials will be conducted in UK fields, and no new GM field trials are expected.’

This is a great milestone but we can’t assume that Europe won’t ever be full of GM crops. That depends on whether you look at the short game or the long game.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, money and trade and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

