Food for thought about badgers

Thanks to my fellow blogger lowerarchy I’ve just seen this excellent short film about the badger cull.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food for thought about badgers

  1. argylesock says:

    [Comment cut and pasted from my personal blog where it was posted after a slight misunderstanding]

    Thats a really interesting short film, thanks for sharing. As you are someone with far more knowledge in this area Id love to see more of your opinion on possible solutions though. Clearly badger-culling is vile, cruel and idiotic, but is there *really* a magic cure all vaccine just around the corner?. In the last 50 years an accual effective vaccine for TB in humans hasn’t been produced, as I understand it, and susceptibility to the disease comes back in vaccinated humans in about 5 years.
    This film also mentions of ther preventative strategies such as more rigorous testing – and I wonder if that, along with reducing farm sizes and the intensity of dairy farming isn’t the real solution

Leave a Reply

